MusicOverkill Debuts New Album’s Second Single, Visualizer

Overkill Debuts New Album’s Second Single, Visualizer


March 14 — Veteran metal band Overkill is giving audiences another preview of its forthcoming album, Scorched, this week.

The band premiered the album’s second single, ‘Wicked Place‘ and its companion visualizer Tuesday. The song is the second single from the album, which is scheduled for release April 14 through Nuclear Blast Records. The band premiered the album’s lead single, ‘The Surgeon‘ in January.

The musical arrangement featured in the band’s new single is a steady, plodding thrash composition. Even at its steady pace, the arrangement’s impact is complete. Listeners can argue to a point that the song has a hint of a doom metal leaning along with that thrash approach. The whole is a completely engaging and entertaining composition.

Front man Bobby Blitz said listeners who are familiar with the band’s body of work will recognize the song’s sound and stylistic approach.

“One of my favorite rides on the record, a big thick groove reminiscent of days gone by, with a modern punch in the snoot! Get Wicked!,” Blitz said.

No information was provided about the song’s lyrical theme in the press release announcing the single’s release. However, the song’s visualizer and what can be interpreted sans lyrics to reference, the theme can be inferred to be a sociopolitical commentary. This as the visualizer incorporates footage of unidentified war torn regions and dark forested regions.

Below is the track listing for Scorched:
1. Scorched
2. Goin’ Home
3. The Surgeon
4. Twist OF The Wick
5. Wicked Place
6. Won’t Be Comin Back
7. Fever
8. Harder They Fall
9. Know Her Name
10. Bag O’ Bones

Scorched will be released on a variety of platforms, all of which are listed below:

Scorched will be available in the following formats:

  • CD Jewel
  • Fluorescent Green Cassette (Limited to 400 worldwide)
  • Longbox (Limited to 1,000 worldwide)
    • CD Jewel
    • Button
    • Sticker
  • Double LP
    • Black
    • Aztec Gold (Limited to 2,500 worldwide)
    • Fresh Green (Limited to 1,000 worldwide)
    • Trans Amber w. Fluorescent Green

In other news, Overkill is scheduled to launch a tour in support of its new album April 13 in Bochum, Germany. The tour is scheduled to run through April 29 in Barcelona, Spain. The tour’s schedule is noted below. Tickets are available here.

APRIL 2023

13 – Bochum – Zeche
14 – Zwolle – Hedon
15 – Osnabrück – Hyde Park
16 – Berlin – Huxleys
17 – München – Backstage
18 – Stuttgart – LKA
19 – Zürich – Komplex
21 – Parma – Campus Industry
22 – Fontaneto – Phenomenon Club
23 – Saarbrücken – Garage
24 – Wiesbaden – Schlachthof
25 – Vorselaar – De Dreef
26 – Paris – Trabendo
28 – Pamplona – Totem
29 – Barcelona – Razzmatazz 2

13 – Alcatraz – Kortrijk BE

More information on Overkill’s new album, single, and tour is available along with all of the band’s latest news at: