NewsNew Allman Brothers Band Live Recording To Release For...

New Allman Brothers Band Live Recording To Release For Record Store Day


March 27 — The Allman Brothers Band has announced it will release a new live recording for Record Store Day.

Syria MosquePittsburg, PA January 17, 1971 will release on a special 2-LP vinyl set on Record Store Day, April 22 through the Allman Brothers Band Recording Company. The special release will be limited to 10,000 copies nationwide on a “Pittsburgh Steel Grey” vinyl pressing. At the time of the band’s performance, it has been in existence less than two years (22 months to be exact). The concert presented in the new recording was captured at the Syria Mosque in Pittsburgh, PA. It marked the first time ever that The Allman Brothers Band had performed in “The Steel City.”

Despite being called Syria Mosque, the concert venue was not a mosque, but a concert hall. The 3,700-seat facility was home to the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra in 1916. Other bands, such as Deep Purple, Pink Floyd, Yes, and The Who had also performed at the theater.

The audio presented in the recording was pulled straight from the soundboard and has been restored and remastered for its new presentation.

The track listing for the forthcoming Record Store Day presentation is noted below:

Track Listing for Syria Mosque (2-LP package on “Pittsburgh Steel Grey”):

SIDE 1 (12 mins)

  1. Introduction
  2. Statesboro Blues
  3. Trouble No More
  4. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’

SIDE 2 (18 mins)

  1. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed
  2. Midnight Rider

SIDE 3 (15 mins)

  1. You Don’t Love Me

SIDE 4 (20 mins)

  1. Whipping Post

More information on the forthcoming recording is available along with all of the band’s latest news at: