Monday, July 15, 2024

Related Posts

Overkill Releases New Album, ‘Scorched,’ Premieres Album’s Title Track, Video; Tour Underway

April 14 — The wait for Overkill’s new album, Scorched, ended Friday when the band released the band’s new album.

Along with its debut, the band also premiered the record’s latest single — its title track — and the song’s companion video. ‘Scorched’ is the third single produced from Overkill’s new album. Its premiere follows those of the singles, ‘Wicked Place‘ and ‘The Surgeon‘.

Stylistically, the band’s new up-tempo single is similar to ‘The Surgeon’ in its musical arrangement. The energy is just as present in each song. The actual sound however, is just different enough from that of ‘The Surgeon’ to make it stand well on its own merits.

No information was provided about the song’s lyrical theme in the news release announcing the premiere of the song and video. The lyrics provided with the video leave themselves wide open to interpretation. On one side, the song comes across as being somewhat existential in nature while on the other it comes across as being a commentary of sorts. That is just this critic’s interpretation, not having any comment from the band to reference.

The song’s video is a straight forward presentation. It features the band on a sound stage dressed to look like a live setting, performing its new single. The setting helps audiences envision what the band looks like on stage as the band launches a tour in support of Scorched with Heathen.

The tour’s schedule is noted below:

Today, the band kick-off their “Killfest” European Tour 2023 with HEATHEN:
APRIL 2023

14 – Zwolle – Hedon
15 – Osnabrück – Hyde Park
16 – Berlin – Huxleys
17 – München – Backstage
18 – Stuttgart – LKA
19 – Zürich – Komplex
21 – Parma – Campus Industry
22 – Fontaneto – Phenomenon Club
23 – Saarbrücken – Garage
24 – Wiesbaden – Schlachthof
25 – Vorselaar – De Dreef
26 – Paris – Trabendo
28 – Pamplona – Totem
29 – Barcelona – Razzmatazz 2

13 – Alcatraz – Kortrijk BE

More information on Overkill’s new album, single, and tour is available along with all of the band’s latest news at: