Saturday, July 20, 2024

Related Posts

Mercury Studios Announces Details For Upcoming Hot Tuna Live Collection Re-Issue

May 18 — Mercury Studios is set to re-issue a collection of live performances from Hot Tuna this summer.

The three-disc collection is scheduled for release July 7. Pre-orders for the collection, titled simply as 3 through Amazon, are open. The collection features performances held by the duo — Jorma Kaukonen and Jack Casady (who were both members of Jefferson Airplane during its infancy) — January 27 and 28, 1992 at Sweetwater’s Music Hall in Mill Valley, CA and at Stove’s in Yokohama, Japan in January 1997.

The upcoming re-issue marks the collection’s second re-issue since its initial release by Relix in the 1990s. Eagle Records re-issued the collection in 2004 with bonus content. The new re-issue will come with a bonus poster.

The set lists for the upcoming collection are noted below:

Live At Sweetwater’s CD 1

January 27, 1992
Jorma Kaukonen, vocals, guitar, dobro, pedal steel
Jack Casady, bass
Michael Falzarano, vocals, guitar, mandolin, harmonica
Guests include Bob Weir, guitar, vocals; Pete Sears, keyboards; Wavy Gravy and Maria Muldaur, vocals.

1) Whinin’ Boy Blues
2) Great Change
3) Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
4) I Know You Rider
5) Embryonic Journey
6) Trouble In Mind
7) Bank Robber
8) I See The Light
9) I’ll Be There For You
10) True Religion
11) I Belong To The Band
12) Maggie’s Farm
13) That’s All Right Mama
14) Been So Long
15) Genesis
16) Ice Age
17) Praise The Lord And Pass The Snakes

Live At Sweetwater’s CD 2

January 28, 1992
Same instrumentation with Happy Traum replacing Wavy Gravy, plus the additions of Bobaloo (bass) and Keith Corssan (sax).

1) Hesitation Blues
2) Dime For Beer
3) Trial By Fire
4) Death Don’t Have No Mercy
5) 99 Year Blues
6) San Francisco Bay Blues
7) Too Many Years
8) Blue Moon Of Kentucky
9) Ain’t Got No Home
10) Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
11) Walkin’ Blues
12) Third Week In The Chelsea
13) My AK-47
14) Parchman Farm
15) Folsom Prison Blues

Live In Japan CD 3
January 1997
Yokohama, Japan
Jorma Kaukonen, vocals, guitar
Jack Casady, bass
Michael Falzarano, guitar
Pete Sears, keyboards
Harvey Sorgen, drums

1) Walkin’ Blues
2) Parchman Farm
3) True Religion
4) Been So Long
5) Uncle Sam Blues
6) Vampire Woman
7) Follow The Drinking Gourd
8) Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning
9) Let Us Get Together
10) Third Week In The Chelsea
11) 99 Year Blues
12) Ice Age
13) San Francisco Bay Blues
14) Folsom Prison Blues
15) Mann’s Fate

More information on the recording is available along with other titles from Mercury Studios at: